Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals hears appeals of decisions relating to the City's Zoning Code, and considers applications for variances from the Zoning Code, as provided under Section 1137 of the Codified Ordinances. Variances may include any requests to alter a property from the regulations established by the Zoning Code, such as requests to change the yard setback of a building or to erect a sign that falls outside of the zoning guidelines.

The Appeals Board consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor and approved by City Council. One member of the Appeals Board must be a member of the City Planning Commission.

Membership: The term of office of the members of the Appeals Board is set for five years. The Appeals Board elects its own chairperson and vice-chairperson; each of these officers serves in their role for one year.

Meeting Schedule: This Board meets on an as-needed basis.

Agendas: Available here.


  • Kent Frauenberger - Chairman
  • Richard Burns
  • Patricia Chavis
  • Will Harrelson
  • Larry Salyer
  • John Stickel
  • Sherri Green - Secretary
  • N. Lawrence Wolke