Civil Service Commission

Civil Service is the employment system that establishes entrance, promotions, and other aspects of employment for a variety of City jobs. Civil Service rules incorporate laws against employment discrimination and set exam requirements for new hires. The Civil Service Commission sets and enforces rules pertaining to Civil Service positions within the City, including examinations, appointments, promotions, and removals of those positions.

Governing Law: The Civil Service Commission is established per Section 137.01 of the Codified Ordinances pursuant to ORC Section 124.40.

Membership and Terms: The Civil Service Commission consists of three members, who each serve a term of six years.

Appointment: The members are appointed by the mayor, and not more than two may be members of one political party. 

Meeting Schedule: The Civil Service Commission meets quarterly, as needed, at City Hall.


Name Term Began Term Expires
Chairman Craig E. Wise Oct. 8, 2005 Dec. 31, 2020
Vice-Chair DeMarcus Moody Jan. 1, 2020 Dec. 31, 2025
Stephanie Johnson
Dec. 31, 2021
Secretary Mary Lynn Mouser Indefinite

Dec. 31, 2021